top of page
Search
  • lindfieldlearningv

LLV Life & Why It Suits Me - A students perspective.

Updated: Sep 2, 2022

I have now finished a very eventful term at my new school, Lindfield Learning Village. I have only been here for a very short time but it already feels like I am at home. I was happy at my old school but I didn’t really know what happiness was like then. I feel like I am happy because I am using what I have learnt in real life, not just on a worksheet. Also, at my other school I always looked forward to lunchtime more than the actual lessons, but at LLV I look forward to the lessons as much as the lunchtimes.


At my other school I only had about 15 friends but at LLV I have many more. I think this is because people are more open and different age groups are connected. I believe they are more open because they learn to have a more open mindset at LLV. So even though LLV is a smaller school, I have more friends.


Here is a poem I wrote:


At LLV there are more diverse spaces

So I can hang out with different friends in different places


For maths, we have done two projects. One was based on a road trip around Australia and the other about creating a tiny town. For the road trip you had to choose the sites that you wanted to visit to plot a path on a map of Australia. We used Google maps to study cartography. To complete the project we had to use these maths skills: calculating distance, costs, time, and graphing maps and temperature. Road trips was really fun because you got to make your own choices, not have a worksheet telling you how to do something.


Tiny Towns was great because we got to design a whole town and choose each building's purpose (e.g. hospitals, cafes, houses, airports, apartments). We used lots of measurements like area and perimeter. We drew our towns on grid paper and built our design with recycled materials like cardboard, paper and bubble wrap.

We drew things that when folded turned into 3d shapes, these became our buildings. Making it was tricky because at first we had to use glue because we couldn’t find sticky tape, and glue doesn’t glue well to cardboard. I liked the building part best because you really got to use your imagination.


In Literacy, one week really stood out from the rest. It was about space. The scenario was that you just landed on an unknown planet and have been chased by U.F.Os and you have just found a cave to hide in. We heard this on an audio attached to Google slides with instructions. This showed a note in the cave to someone called Gregerick. We then created a dictionary of unknown alien words based on the information we had gathered. Here is an example: “You were so small when I planted you in the *@**”. I figured it meant ‘ground’ from looking at the sentence around it. Someone else could have a completely different meaning for it. I enjoyed this because it was like figuring out a secret code.



Quest is a subject that incorporates lots of different skills. Our end of term task was to create a timeline in one week on a certain topic - I chose Aboriginal and Torre Strait Islander peoples. You could draw the timeline, build it or design the timeline online. I did it on Canva, a design App. (The timeline is attached below). I learnt about Australian history and how to represent my ideas visually. I especially liked decorating the timeline.



One Friday morning because it was heavily raining, we skipped sports and decided to do some still life portraits. We used mixed media like: charcoal, led pencil, colouring pencils and watercolour. We had two hours to do this so it was slow art. Doing slow art is actually trickier than fast art, because you can always find something to go back to.


Another time, we unexpectedly went into the playground to draw tiny things really big. I drew an ant, a wattle and a weed. The weed was surprisingly, the hardest thing to draw as it had so many things sticking out. It made me realise the tiniest things were there as well and they deserve to be drawn in as much detail as the big things.


The most fun event of the term was Unleashed week, the last week of the term. Unleashed is basically a week where we choose different week-long programs. Just to name a few: Claymania (working with clay), Triple Threat (Musical Theatre no explanation required), Mission Impossible Escape room (explanation same as musical theatre) and Robotics.


I chose Orienteering and Geocaching. Orienteering and geocaching are hard to explain but I will try. Orienteering is basically trekking or running (usually through bushland), but to mark you’ve been there along the trail, you have to punch a hole in a piece of paper. You have to use maps to do this. Geocaching is even harder to explain. Geocaching is when you do a bush walk to find a box with treasure inside, this is called a “cache”. This box is put here by other geocachers. The first day was mainly finding fake money and learning how to read maps and doing the hole punching. The second day we were doing a bush walk to find a cache. It was very, very, very hard to find this cache. After the bush walk was over we got to try and create a world in Minecraft so we could orienteer and geocache in Minecraft. On the fourth and fifth day we did more orienteering and reading maps. Overall I’m very glad that I picked orienteering and geocaching. I think it has it has taught me a lot - like reading maps, physical exercise, experiencing the bush and different techniques in Minecraft.


At LLV we are more relaxed. I feel a sense of purpose - it's not like your story is written for you.


Submitted by Mika aged 10.

335 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page